National Buffalo Soldiers 9th & 10th (Horse) Cavalry Association
An Official Military Unit

Presidents Pen

Greetings from Our President

quillOn behalf of the Executive  Board and membership of the Ninth and Tenth (Horse) Cavalry Association, “The Buffalo Soldiers”, welcome to our official website.  Thank you for taking the time to visit this website and by doing so you honor those brave men and women who made great sacrifices for their country.  They are true American heroes! 

We know you will find the site interesting and informative.  It has recently been redesigned and updated.  It is important to us that this site reflects the pride and distinguished service of those whose legacy we seek to preserve.  If there is something else that you would like to see or should you have questions, please don’t hesitate to let us know.

We will highlight personalities, both living and dead whose contributions greatly impacted American history.  In addition to learning about the tremendous history of the Buffalo Soldiers, we look forward to keeping you abreast of Association projects, activities and events such as the unveiling of our national headquarters in Houston Texas in 2016 along with our sesquicentennial celebration.

This is an exciting time for the Ninth and Tenth (Horse) Cavalry Association.  We have nearly forty active chapters across this nation involved in community activities uniquely designed with the goal of sharing this wonderful Buffalo Soldier history.   

Finally, we invite you to join us as we continue to promote, perpetuate, and share the history and legacy of these true American heroes. We solicit your support and participation.

“Answering The Call”

Andre Williams,  National President





Meet our Executive Board


President  Andre Q. Williams, ” Answering The Call”



1st Vice President/Webmaster Nina Amos
2nd Vice President/Historian Frank Bell
Asst. 2nd Vice President/National Headquarters Bruce Mitrchell
Secretary Marilyn Johnson
Asst. Secretary/Partnerships & Grants Rachel Hilliard
Treasurer Larry Thornton
Asst. Treasurer/Audit & Finance Leanna Rogers
Parliamentarian Roy Achong
Asst. Parliamentarian Clint Brown
Sargent-at-Arms Virgil Griffin
Asst. Sargent-at-Arms Henry Black
Chaplin Eddie Sumbler
Asst. Chaplin Fred Gray
Color Guard Commander George Noland
Public Relations Vacant










Isaac Prentice
Eddie Holmes
Wilbur “Sam” Samuels



Committee Appointments

Constitution & Bylaws Aubrey Phillips
Chapter Charters Kenneth Montgomery
Chapter Compliance Bossie Bonner
Reunions Henri LeGendre
Buffalo Soldier Corps Michael Theard
Newsletter Don Johnson
Nominations & Elections Manny Locke



Past Presidents 

Willie Edley – Immediate
Derrick Davis
Harold Cole
Franklin Henderson



© 1997-2018 National Buffalo Soldiers 9th & 10th (Horse) Cavalry Association

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On LinkedinCheck Our Feed